BANSW Management Committee Members

Short Profile of the Committee Members

( Life Member )

Jeffrey Markham
0412 757 125

My formative years were spent playing with Yagoona Band from the age of 7 under the tutelage of Mr Dick Stenning. Throughout my 30 years of Banding, I have traveled extensively around Australia and New Zealand with Bands, met many great people, made many great friends and been priveledged enough to have won many Regional, State and National Solo titles.

A Banker by trade, I have always taken the view that my work career has only ever served to provide me with the means to pursue my other life career.

While Elaine Markham was full time Secretary of the Association in the late ’80’s and most of the ’90’s, I got to see first hand all the functions and goings-on of the Association. For all that period, the Band Association was a full time resident in our family home which meant the Association was a significant part of all our lives. After working at all Association functions and events throughout this period I was elected to the Management Committee for a short time.

Having been a member of two NSW State Youth bands, I have also played, at some stage, with almost every Brass Band in the Sydney / Newcastle / Wollongong regions plus a short period as Conductor of Bankstown City Band. I also played in the Bankstown P.C.Y.C. Concert Band from 1987 until the band folded.

I am currently in my 20th year as a member of the NSW Fire Brigades Band with whom I have travelled extensively throughout Australia, USA, Canada and China and most recently toured to Austria.

Banding has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember and I am very proud and humbled to hold my current position of President of the BANSW and NBCA Councillor.

Vice President/Liason

Tony Luck
0410 332 148

Vice President/Music Stand Editor

Fiona Day
0407 780 836


Contest Administrator

Kristen Moodie
0423 763 629

I first picked up a trumpet at the age of 9 whilst in primary school in the Sutherland Shire. At the time the school band was led by Greg Marks who had also taken over Sutherland PCYC Concert Band.  One thing led to another and now I have been a member of this band for over 20 years. During this time, I have been not only a playing member of the band, but also past Treasurer and Secretary. I joined the BANSW Management Committee in 2008 as I could see that the Association was moving in a new and exciting direction.


(Life Member)

Ian Madden
0434 951 515

Save & Exit



First contact with the Association was around 1973 when I drove the adjudicator to the BANSW State Contest in Orange as a favor to Cliff Goodchild having played in his Sydney Boys High Brass Band and the Waverley Municipal.

My next contact was shortly after I joined Yagoona District in 1992, playing Tuba with Dick Stenning and agreed to help at the next State contest as the Warm up room supervisor and then for a number of years as a Room Supervisor.

Seeing the poor state of the Associations database and not too good backup system I assisted Phil and Mary  Mead with computer support and eventually developed a comprehensive Association management database which is still in use.

Seeing that the Secretary struggled with the load of registrations, I suggested that the Association create the role of Registrar and soon took on that job.



Committee Members for 2016/2017

Matt Klohs
Bev Newitt
Gemma Rolph


Norm Peverell ( Life Member )



Public Officer

Phil Mead

The following positions on the Management Committee are currently vacant:

  • NBCA Councillor
  • 2x General Committee Members

Election to the Committee takes place at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) and in order to apply for a position on the Committee you must be a delegate of a registered band with the Association. Application to join the Committee is available throughout the year should a position be declared vacant at the AGM. Please contact the Secretary for further information.